A Different Point of View

 

Since starting this blog, I have had the honor of talking to many, many people about their life adventures a.k.a struggles. I have been greatly touched by other people’s stories. Stories that are heartbreaking and inspiring at the same time. Most stories I have heard are not in any relation to miscarriage, but are stories about grief. I have been touched by the strength people have. Most of the time, that strength has come from our Savior. I have been so proud of those that have come out of hiding and have started to talk about their experiences and have allowed theirselves to start on the journey of healing. It’s not easy to allow yourself to open up. But, it is oh so rewarding. I was recently talking to a friend about guilt. She was telling me how guilty she feels for being sad about her trials. There is so much guilt that comes from grief. I can’t say how often I will start to feel so heavy hearted and guilty for feeling sad for the pain I have felt. I see that there are so many people out there who have had it WAY WORSE!!!

My heart has been particularly heavy for the people of Nepal. I have watched videos on babies being rescued out of the rubble and have sobbed my eyes out watching it. I can’t even try to fathom what they are going through. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWeLid4TH74 I have a really hard time watching people go through painful things. It gives me pain for them and much anxiety, but I am still so grateful I get to learn from them. We also have a family friend that has been going through an extremely painful experience. In February 2014 her husband was diagnosed with  an extremely aggressive type of brain cancer. They are such an amazing family and continue to hold strong to our Father in Heaven. They AMAZE me in every way. I am both broken hearted and inspired by them. If you want to read about their experience and learn from them, her blog is http://jtrainride.blogspot.com/2014_02_01_archive.html I know they would also appreciate the extra prayers in their behalf.

With all this being said, I have learned that we all go through things. Some big, some not so big. But either way, it’s ok to be sad if you need to be. It’s apart of grieving. You have to be sad in order to eventually get to the point of being happy. Allow it to happen. Be sad for you, be sad for others and pray your little heart out until you find peace. It will come.

We recently had a visit from some of our sweet cousins that we have not seen in a long time. They are also people that I look up to. With their permission, I am going to tell you a little about them. They have been married since 2007 and have not had it easy by any means. They’ve been through a lot of fertility drugs, testing, invitro etc. etc. It’s been emotionally draining and quite frankly not fair. In 2014 they finally got pregnant and at 18 weeks pregnant, they lost their baby. Just like me, she had to go into labor and deliver their sweet baby and then had to say goodbye.  It’s extremely frustrating to know they have had to go through this. At times I struggle with understanding why these things happen. But, they are amazing people with an amazing strength. I know they never asked for this, nor do they want to have to develop the strength they have, but they inspire me. I enjoyed talking to them and learning from their point of view. We didn’t treat our situations quite the same. We had different experiences while going through it, but either way, we still had to grieve and continue to live our new lives as they are now.

While they were here, we had a blast. It was something we all needed. The boys absolutely adored them. I am grateful for the time I had with them and their ability to help me to see yet another point of view.

Fort Worth Stockyards! Cattle Drive
Fort Worth Stockyards! Cattle Drive

IMG_5185

Joe T's ( beautiful Mexican restaurant)
Joe T’s ( beautiful Mexican restaurant)

 

Fort Worth Water Gardens
Fort Worth Water Gardens
Watson loved Erin so much, he wouldn't let her let go of his hand..ever.
Watson loved Erin so much, he wouldn’t let her let go of his hand..ever.

IMG_5192

Downtime at home
Downtime at home
The Texas Rangers!
The Texas Rangers!

IMG_5207 IMG_5205 IMG_5206

 

Leave a Reply

