Easter

This year Easter was a little different for me. I’ve always tried to reflect on Christ’s resurrection on Easter, but this year there was so much more meaning for me. I saw everything as a new beginning. After celebrating Lennon, Andy and I had a conversation in the car about learning to live life as it is now. Our lives will forever be changed and now we need to accept our lives as they are now… different. I feel like anytime anyone goes through anything traumatizing, they have to get to this point. Your life will never be the same. That’s not always a bad thing either. I’ve learned so much from this experience. Things that I needed to learn. I guess I can say I am grateful for that. I have learned that this is my new beginning to my new life. It made me look at life a bit differently. I couldn’t help but treasure every moment I had watching my boys get to be kids. Hunting for Easter eggs, excited about candy and learning about Christ. I really don’t want them to grow up! Being a kid is the best! The day before Easter, we went to a neighborhood Easter egg hunt. There were eggs everywhere and as soon as they set off the buzzer, it was a free for all. Nixon went CRAZY!

SONY DSC

Nixon was on a mission
Nixon was on a mission

He got so many, that he shared them with other kids who got very little.

SONY DSC

Watson was a bit different. The crowd overwhelmed him and he was afraid to get the eggs, so dad came to his rescue.SONY DSC

After the hunt, we opened eggs and ate candy. Then went to see the Easter Bunny and the petting zoo. It was a good time.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

The closest either of them got to the Easter Bunny
The closest either of them got to the Easter Bunny
A hand through the gate was all this petting zoo got from our boys
A hand through the gate was all this petting zoo got from our boys

After our neighborhood event, we went back and colored eggs as a family.

IMG_5067

Easter Sunday, the boys woke up and were excited to see their baskets. They searched for eggs which of course was their favorite part and then we watched LDS General Conference. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_Conference_(LDS_Church)

SONY DSC

IMG_5085 IMG_5081 IMG_5100

The boys actually did pretty good. I can’t say I heard all of the talks, but I did get to feel the love of our savior and was able to learn more about His gospel.

Later that night, we had the missionaries and some friends over to enjoy a Easter ham dinner and some fun games that our friends provided.

IMG_5101

Straw glasses from the Easter Bunny
Straw glasses from the Easter Bunny

IMG_5610

The game we played was so much fun and I believe will turn into a tradition from here on out. Thanks Airhart’s for all your amazing tradition ideas!

The game is called Egg Roll. The idea is to set up two eggs and roll them into each other. Theory has it that only ONE egg will crack out of the two. You want your egg to be the only survivor by the end…I WON! I guess I had the strongest egg. The Airhart’s made a hilarious trophy and I got a massive chocolate bunny as well.

IMG_5104 IMG_5107 IMG_5110 IMG_5113 IMG_5115 IMG_5118 IMG_5120

Andy was runner up
Andy was runner up

IMG_5139

We had a blast and already can’t wait to do it again next year. We are sure grateful for our friends that have become our family away from family.

 

Leave a Reply

