Father’s Day

Father’s day I am afraid was a bit of a let down for Andy. He would never say that, but I am usually great at planning things out and like to have things ready in advance. This year Father’s Day landed on the Sunday before I thought it was supposed to land. We had so much going on at the time that I was thrown off. With that being said, I tried my best. We started off with a trip to the store the night before with my pal Nixon. He is at such a fun age now for these types of things. He loves to get involved. We went and picked out some presents for him from the kids and of course me as well.

Picking out Dad's presents
Picking out Dad’s presents
We have 8:30 church so we had to go simple for Breakfast in bed, but Dad loves Apple crisps and Protein Shakes
We have 8:30 church so we had to go simple for Breakfast in bed, but Dad loves Apple crisps and Protein Shakes
presents
presents
Boys present to Dad was an Iron Man Kite
Boys present to Dad was an Iron Man Kite

IMG_7082

Ed Sheeren tickets, and we didn't end up going. Long story that will be explained in a later post
Ed Sheeren tickets, and we didn’t end up going. Long story that will be explained in a later post
the day was dedicated to serving Dad and the boys were quite the good little servants
the day was dedicated to serving Dad and the boys were quite the good little servants

IMG_7141 IMG_7139 IMG_7138 IMG_7127 IMG_7129

massaging Dad's feet
massaging Dad’s feet
bringing Dad his favorite Peanut Butter cookies and Diet Coke
bringing Dad his favorite Peanut Butter cookies and Diet Coke

IMG_7152 IMG_7153

Watson was my special helper in making Dad dinner
Watson was my special helper in making Dad dinner

IMG_7156 IMG_7160 IMG_7162

Dad's favorite dinner is Breakfast for Dinner
Dad’s favorite dinner is Breakfast for Dinner

IMG_7164 IMG_7200 IMG_7201 IMG_7202 IMG_7203 Father’s Day, like Mother’s Day is a very special day in my opinion. It is a day to recognize not only the Father of my children but also other special Dad’s in my life including my Father in Law, grandfather’s and my own Dad. I feel Father’s are often times overlooked when it comes to the family. It’s always said that when it comes to the kids, mother’s do it all. I would have to say, there is not a day that goes by that I am not grateful for this amazing man in my life. He is highly looked up to by these boys. They think he can do no wrong. He works so hard for our family to have the things we need and it doesn’t stop there, he comes home and when you know all he wants to do is sit down, relax and put his feet up, he doesn’t. He loves on our boys and helps me wherever needed. He has a kind heart and thinks about others often and is always trying to find ways to help others. I feel he gained that kind heart from his own Father, which I am grateful for. He is a man that I am proud to be married to and am grateful that I found him. He always says he’s not good enough for me. But he is so wrong, I was lucky to get him! I also am so grateful for his dad. His dad is a special man and has always had a great relationship with Andy. I know Andy looks up to him a lot. As for my dad, how could I not be grateful. Some of my favorite memories growing up involved just me and my dad. I loved learning to play baseball from him, going on our dates and oddly enough I loved our interviews that we would have. I always felt closer to him after doing those. My Dad has the ability to mention the good in people and stay away from talking about the bad. He has always been concerned and understanding and I appreciate him for that. Father’s Day helps remind me of how important the role of a Father is and for that I am grateful.

I know like Mother’s Day, Father’s day can be difficult for some. Those who have lost their Father’s, been abandoned by their Father’s, or those who have yet to become a Father. But I hope that we can try and remember the good things about this day and find the positives and allow it to bring joy in our lives. Cuz, it really is one important day.

Leave a Reply

