Nixon turns 6!

We are a family full of summer birthdays. Mine is June 26th, two weeks later is Nixon’s, two weeks later is Andy’s, a month later is Watson’s and two days later will be baby girl’s birthday! It is a crazy time! The summer for me is full of planning for birthdays. It’s nuts!

Nixon’s birthday this year was on a Monday. Because of leap year, he lucked out and missed the Sunday birthday. Ha! We still had to get a lot ready on Sat. so we didn’t have to go buy anything on Sunday.

I only do birthday parties on their first birthday and then every four years. So, 4, 8, 12, 16 etc. So, this year again was a no birthday party year. However, we still like to do fun things as a family. We had planned to be doing stuff on Monday night, so instead of doing a cake on Monday, we did one on Sunday and let him blow out the candles.

Both boys LOVE to help me out in the kitchen. I can’t say it is my favorite thing yet because they are always making messes, but they sure enjoy it. Both of them helped me make the cake and then they both helped ice it and of course lick the bowl.

DSC_0456DSC_0459DSC_0461DSC_0465

DSC_0478
I bought some sparkler candles, thinking they’d be fun. Instead they were awful! They got ash all over the cake.

DSC_0484

DSC_0487
So I spent a good amount of time getting that ash off the cake
DSC_0492
and wiped it on my hands in the process. The boys thought that was pretty gross

DSC_0493DSC_0499

DSC_0508
Nixon covered in frosting from licking the bowl, thoroughly enjoyed the cake.

That night, the festivities began. Andy put up the trampoline and got eaten by mosquitos,

DSC_0515

and I blew up a bunch of balloons to put all over his room, wrapped the presents and decorated.

DSC_0525

DSC_0528

That night was a bit of a nightmare for Andy and I. Nixon had been beyond excited for his birthday. He had been counting down for it for months. He loves me putting balloons all over the floor in his room, so every year he asks for that and every year I do it. I may or may not have regretted it this year. He was so excited, he woke up in the middle of the night, around 2 a.m. My guess is that he saw all the balloons all over his floor and then got really excited and couldn’t go back to sleep. He then came downstairs where he saw everything decorated and proceeded to come into our bedroom where he kept us up much of the night. He crawled in our bed and just laid there, taking turns trying to wake one of us up. He would poke at us, make noises, push on us, etc. Then after laying there wide awake forever, he began to get really bored and then hungry. So then he starts whispering to me, “Mom, what do I do if I’m hungry?” At this point, I was starting to get really frustrated with him. I said “what you do, is GO TO SLEEP!” Then he turned from me over to Andy and started pinching Andy’s arm with little small pinches.. OH BOY! That’s when I hear Andy sit up, turn to Nixon sleepy and annoyed and say, ” I don’t care if it’s your birthday! You can’t be doing this! Stop bugging me and pinching me!” Ha ha!  At that point, I knew we were both exhausted and couldn’t handle much more. It was 4:00 am and we were done. So I got up, got Nixon a string cheese and said you need to eat this and go to your bed. He then went back to his bed and went to sleep till 8:00. Man alive! To be a kid again and get that excited about things! So nuts.

When we got up the next morning, we had both snapped out of our moods after sleeping for a bit and were ready for the excitement. Nixon of course was too!

DSC_0546
We opened presents, some from us and most from his grandparents

DSC_0572
The opened presents
DSC_0559
Tested out the new trampoline. ( it wasn’t completely finished at this point)
DSC_0562
Tested out the books
DSC_0578-1
and tested out his water gifts. ( upside down fin) Ha!

DSC_0585

DSC_0589
He also had a few friends over to swim
DSC_0591
and play

That night we went to La Madeleine as a family for dinner and then Main Event to play some games. While there we saw some of our friends! Nixon was very excited about that  and spent much of his time with them.

img_7046

img_7047

Over all he had a great day! We sure love our Nixon, even from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m. when he’s keeping us up. Ha! He is such a great big brother and really is our ray of golden sunshine!

Leave a Reply

